Day 17-20, Dandelion Salad and Candy Dinner

Don’t get me wrong. My reason for wanting to quit has nothing to do with pickiness. I’ve never been a “foodie.” I eat to survive (and dark chocolate is a survival food). I force myselft to finally eat when everything suddenly goes dark and sounds fuzzy; then I reluctantly leave my laptop and go eat a cheese stick. The problem with having Speedy Gonzales metabolism and a type A personality is that I basically view eating as a complete waste of time. So I get a lot of headaches and am often near to fainting.

I am not wanting to quit this experiment in order to please my palate. I simply want more color on our plates. More color means more nutrition. And that means that we will add an extra three months to our lives. So last week I took it upon myself to go to the store and buy some colorful food for dinner:

 

Before Easter came and we were blessed with one of “Grandpa’s” famous smoked hams, we ate creative odds and ends. One dinner was leftover “spaghetti sauce” (remember those two canned tomato treasures?) on a bed of white rice, which is nothing more than empty-calorie bowel bulk. I miss iron-, fiber-, and B-rich brown rice.

 

Another night we had home fries with diced pepperoni. Not too bad.

I mentioned  before that we are out of ground venison. But be reminded that we have a freezer-full of enough deer steaks to feed the Union Army. One of our favorite uses for them is “spedies.” This is a regional food that originated in Johnson City, New York. They actually have a Spedie Fest every year, and sell spedie marinade in local grocery stores (italian dressing works just fine). Basically, you cube meat (beef, chicken, venison), marinate and grill it on skewers, and serve it rolled up in a buttered slice of italian bread. Yum.

Some caring friends told me about the health wonders of dandelion leaves. So we enjoyed a rare salad last night, drizzled with Newman’s Own cranberry walnut dressing:

 

Anna has just boiled herself some Wheatena for lunch. The girls always hated that stuff.

While I was helping Sarah rummage through the pantry in search of a spare jar of peanut butter, we came across a lone fortune cookie. It contained this message:

Do not let what you do not have prevent you from using what you do have.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Megan J.
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 01:23:27

    Hi there. I thought you should know that your quest has totally inspired me to do the same. I have been using up what I have and it feels awesome. Thanks for the inspiration and keep up the good work!

    Reply

  2. bev
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 17:22:11

    no offense but this blog really sucks and was really boring

    Reply

  3. Megan J.
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 02:40:14

    Bev can suck it. Keep up the good work!

    Reply

  4. Jessica R
    May 01, 2011 @ 02:44:50

    I have been slowly trying to use up some things from our pantry. Nothing drastic like you are doing though. I am trying. And I am enjoying your blog, no one is forcing Bev to read it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

