Day 14-16, Almost Giving Up

Let’s just say that “Crisco” (organic vegetable shortening) and bagels do not belong on the same plate together.

The girls are packing matzo cracker sandwiches and tortilla chip fragments in their school lunches.

We held a family council  to decide whether we should continue the experiment, and one of us voiced the desire to quit. Now I’m not in the business of making others look bad, so I won’t reveal who it was. But I can tell you that it was not Dave or any of the kids.

We are not eating fresh fruit or vegetables. I’m concerned that without broccoli and dark green leafy things on our plates we will die of cancer soon.

I found these two treasures in the basement doomsday stash two days ago:

I added the last package of ground venison to it and served it over pasta for the last two nights.

On top of spaghetti

NOT covered in cheese…  ♫

Every time it is suggested that we quit the experiment, the girls look at the person who suggests it like she’s–er, like that person–is crazy. They continue to amaze me.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carla Anne
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 18:44:03

    My family (minus one very influential vote) is very excited to try this. I love what you are doing Faith. Such a leader in your home and in the world. Bless you… from far away, but close to my heart!

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 18:56:30

    This has been fun to follow. Not sure I can do it. I’m secretly hoping it will end soon, as I just discovered your “other” blog a few days back and love it. Eagerly awaiting new posts!! 🙂

    Reply

  3. An American Family's Food-Spending Freeze
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 19:08:52

    Thanks for your kind words, Heather! I plan to blog at the other place very soon, while keeping this one going.

    Reply

  4. Carla Anne
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 19:53:57

    Absolutely Manitoba has leafy greens… if you came for a visit you’d see for yourself! And just think… you wouldn’t have to buy groceries the whole time you’d be here! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Jason S. Kong
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 04:19:48

    Huh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

