Day 11-13, New Use for a Bean Bag

Someone gave me this at church this morning:

He said that they are “for the kids, for Easter.” Which was very nice. But I don’t think kids need this many eggs to boil, color and let rot under a tree until August, do you? Eggsactly. I can taste tomorrow’s breakfast already.

On Friday I looked in the fridge and realized we had just enough fixin’s for our last taco salad dinner, and I used the second-to-last package of ground venison. We really had to stretch the reds and greens, but everyone had plenty to eat.

Sarah turned 13 on Saturday and we agreed to pause the experiment for the occasion. I went to Wegmans, my home-away-from-home, to buy her birthday dinner. When Gloria, who works in the  floral department, saw me, she said, “Where have you been?” The way she responded when I told her about our experiment will be forever etched on my heart:

“That sounds fun!” she beamed.

Only someone who has ever done a total food-buying freeze for an extended period of time would understand how much that meant to me. I wanted to hug her.

I bought everything Sarah wanted to eat on her first evening of being a teenager: hot dogs (I buy nitrite-free dogs, which costs per pound what gas costs per gallon, but at least my kids won’t die of a stroke any time soon), buns, chips, baked beans, salad (Admittedly this was not Sarah’s choice, but hey, I made her day of birth possible, with a little help from Dave, of course. We deserve a salad.), and all the ingredients for a Mississippi mud pie.

Until today, the only thing I ever did with a bag of dry white beans was tote it around on my shoulder as a kid, pretending it was the pet kitten I was never allowed to have. The only thing I ever did with a can of carrots was store it on a basement shelf and occasionally walk by and call it a few bad names.

But early this morning kitten and carrots came together in the crock pot with some leftover hamuccine ham (unused) and chicken stock, to make what Dave dubbed “albino black bean soup:”

Our “adopted college student,” Carrie, gave it her thumbs up. I keep telling myself it’s not just because she’s used to campus food.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jason S. Kong
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 04:02:50

    Nice to have eggs, eh? You should make some brine eggs.

    Reply

  2. Erin
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 21:28:35

    Hi Faith! I came over from your Amazon author page on Daily Guideposts… and I love this! I’m telling you, my hubby and I NEED to go on a spending freeze. Of course, I’m NERVOUS. I always find SOMETHING I need/want to buy. But this is such a fun idea and I love your blog posts! Now I’m off to check out your “other blog”

    Reply

  3. An American Family's Food-Spending Freeze
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 00:55:52

    Thanks for stopping by, Erin! How wonderful to meet another fellow “Guideposts-er,” and thanks for your encouraging words! And now I’m off to check out your blog some more too, love it so far! Hope to meet you in person sometime, somewhere…. 🙂

    Reply

  4. An American Family's Food-Spending Freeze
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 00:58:50

    Dunno, Jason, scrambled is much more appealing. Brine belongs in a chemistry lab, imo. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

