Day 8, Welcome to the Outhouse Steakhouse

Yesterday Anna found a treasure on the bank of our small pond; one of the ducks decided it was time to lay an egg. We’ve added it to our collection, and if Jasmine’s generosity persists, I shall happily resume my protein breakfasts.

 

Green hamuccine isn’t so bad left over if it’s suffocated by melted cheese. I’ll be eating that for lunch until Easter.

For some reason Dave was especially anxious for me to photograph last night’s dinner:

 

Welcome to the Outhouse Steakhouse

House or Caesar Salad and fresh bread not included with any entree. What do you think this is, the Outback?

All entrees include your choice of starch from the root cellar: red potato, yukon gold potato, russet baker potato. We take the sprouts off first.

 

Tonight’s Special:

Tender medallions of Venison Loin delicately seasoned with McCormick Chicken Rub and grilled over an oakwood fire in a 20 inch steel rim.

Frozen fresh garden sweet corn

Add $.50 for dab of butter on potato, $3.00 for sour cream

Unlimited refills of water

 

This meal was as delicious as the chef was sexy. But we’ll be eating it several times a week until the next presidential election. I am grateful, so help me God.




5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg Soper
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 18:03:26

    I wanted to let you know that I am enjoying living vicariously through your experiment. You are such an inspiration to me. As I think about my pantry, I am seriously considering following your example, so if I disappear some day soon, make sure to ask my teenage boys where they hid the body.

    Reply

  2. An American Family's Food-Spending Freeze
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 18:10:07

    LOL! Will do, Meg. 😉 Thanks for the encouragement; comments are extra-appreciated for this type of blog.

    Reply

  3. Jason S. Kong
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 19:26:34

    Campus had a free midnight pancake outing, so guess what I ate for dinner?

    The answer is Sherbet, actually.

    Reply

  4. Jason S. Kong
    Apr 14, 2011 @ 20:51:01

    Well, that wasn’t for dinner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

