Day 3

When I showed you the inside of my fridge, I failed to mention that we have a full size freezer downstairs–a mausoleum for Big Bird and  Bambi’s uncle (He had a big rack and heavy poundage; Dave would want you to know.).  The fridge freezer upstairs has a few freezer-burned odds and ends (I’d rather write than spring-clean my appliances.).

So last night’s dinner was a family favorite: Venison breakfast-sausage gravy and Dave’s homemade whole wheat biscuits. It’s okay to be jealous. (Trust me, it tastes better than it looks. Due to the combination of seasonings we use, our gravy doesn’t have that white-glue appearance of the canned glop you buy in the store.) :

 

I was lazy and skipped the vegetables. The only “real” ones we have left are a huge stash of fresh-frozen corn. That will be a nice supplement to the dreaded crap-in-a-can, which is what we call anything edible that comes in a can. We have a stash of that too, for doomsday.

I continue to discover more benefits of this experiment. Yesterday the girls had some friends over, and when one of the guests proceeded to eat a snack, two of the girls had a fit. I said, “Girls! This is supposed to make you more giving, not more selfish!”

We have a lot to learn.

At bedtime, Rebecca (9) prayed this prayer:

Dear Lord, thank you that we can do this experiment. Thank you that when we go to visit the orphans in Haiti, we will know how they feel a little bit. And we will have more compassion.

It’s been well worth it already, but we’re still in the honeymoon phase.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jason S. Kong
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 17:38:36

    These days I am so thankful when people offer me food (not knowing about my Lenten behavior). I am still afraid to ask, though. Maybe I am still too proud.

    Reply

  2. An American Family's Food-Spending Freeze
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 18:28:49

    Jason, is there a food bank in your area?

    I’m not sure I’d want to ask either, if I were in your situation. Who of us would call up a friend and say, “I’m hungry?”

    You could always become a temporary freegan! 🙂

    Feel free to expound on why you are doing this.

    Reply

  3. Jason S. Kong
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 17:03:57

    “Who of us would call up a friend and say, “I’m hungry?””

    That’s our pride speaking.

    Reply

  4. An American Family's Food-Spending Freeze
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 03:21:43

    I said, “If I were in your situation”–meaning, because it’s a voluntary Lenten fast. I’m not sure I’d call and ask someone for food in that case. I don’t think it’s a pride issue. I mean… “Hi. I’m fasting for Lent, so I’m hungry. Can you feed me?” hmmmm…..

    Reply

  5. Jason S Kong
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 03:34:45

    The point of the voluntary Lenten fast is to expose my pride and humble myself and become dependent on others. It’s the very point of the fast, to identify with the needy – so for me to say “Well, it’s just voluntary, I guess I’ll give up” is the exact thing I’m wanting to rid myself of.

    And pride is the one that says “If I don’t have to, then I won’t depend on others. Heck, I just won’t depend on others.” It’s still pride.

    Reply

  6. An American Family's Food-Spending Freeze
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 19:22:46

    So you said the point of your fast is (to quote you):
    1. to expose your pride
    2. to humble yourself
    3. to become dependent on others
    4. to identify with the needy.

    Is it possible to accomplish all those without calling up someone and asking for food? You are definitely dependent on others right now. Whether you make a phone call doesn’t change that.

    I’m not suggesting you give up or stop depending on others. I’m not suggesting you don’t call someone for help.

    My only thought is, should you perhaps be prepared to explain (to whomever you telephone for food) why you are doing so, since you do have the means to provide for yourself? I would think that might come into question.

    Reply

  7. An American Family's Food-Spending Freeze
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 19:39:32

    If anyone lives in the Lafayette, IN area, please bring my friend Jason some food. (He eats anything and I do mean ANYTHING.) In the process, you may be rewarded with the friendship of a fun and caring person who’s good with kids and loves his dog. Oh, and he’s single.

    Reply

  8. Jason S. Kong
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 16:16:25

    Otherwise, I’ll have to eat my dog.

    Of course it’s still possible to accomplish all those without doing so, but pride has many dimensions. Exposing your pride in one dimension may leave another dimension intact. Sin comes and haunts you in a number of ways, after all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

