Day 2

Dinner: left-over turkey soup and french bread pizza. And we finished off the last of the lettuce and tomato. I would normally make up more homemade salad dressing, but what’s the point? We used the inferior bottled stuff in the fridge.

The kids had their first rude awakening in the area of waste. During the day, one of the kids poured too much milk  and ended up dumping the excess down the drain. The others were traumatized (We have one gallon left.).

“Now you know how Daddy and I feel every time we see you pouring too much milk into your cereal, and wasting it!” I said. They just started at me, solemnly. Oh, I’m going to love this experiment.

After dinner we all gathered around the piano and sang this song, which we have sung many times in church, but it suddenly takes on new meaning:

You are my supply, my breath of life

And still more awesome than I know

You are my reward, worth living for,

And still more awesome than I know

All of you is more than enough for

All of me, for every thirst and every need

You satisfy me with your love

And all I have in you is more than enough!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Miller
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 14:06:05

    I’m thinking the hardest thing would be the milk issue. That was my husband’s first question, “What about milk?” Of course he was raised on a dairy farm! LOL

    Reply

  2. An American Family's Food-Spending Freeze
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 03:18:39

    We have a quite a bit of powdered milk, so we’re set for now. It’s not as bad as we thought it would be if it’s well chilled.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

